AIAA Houston 2017 Elections 

AIAA Houston will have elections for Chair, Chair-Elect, Treasurer, Secretary, Vice Chair – Operations, Vice Chair – Technical, and for 5 Councilor positions during the month of April. In order to hold the vote, nominees for these positions are needed by March 25th with the nominating period opening today. To nominate someone, please send their name, the position sought, and contact information to Michael Frostad, Election Committee Chair, at by March 25th.

AIAA Houston is one of the most active AIAA sections in the nation. If you find that you or someone you know is excited about Aerospace, wants to help pick our speakers, and wants to develop7 leadership skills, please consider nominating them or yourself for one of these positions described below:

The Chair-Elect shall assist the Chair in performing the Chair’s duties as requested by the Chair. The Chair-Elect shall attend Council and committee meetings to monitor and become familiar with the functions of the Section officers and the Section committees. The Chair-Elect shall coordinate with all officers, Councilors, and committee chairmen to prepare plans for the orderly transition for the Chair-Elect’s term of office as Chair during the following year. The Chair-Elect becomes the Chair after 1 year.

Vice Chair – Operations
The Vice Chair – Operations shall be responsible for conducting the detailed planning in Operations such as managing the officers who help run the section (i.e. Programs, Communications, etc.).

Vice Chair – Technical 
The Vice Chair – Technical shall be responsible for conducting the detailed planning in the Technical area such as managing the Technical Committees and their Chairs and overseeing the Annual Technical Symposium (ATS)..

The Secretary shall be a member of the Council and shall maintain minutes of all meetings of the Section and shall be custodian of all its records not specially assigned to others. The Secretary shall conduct the correspondence of the Section and the Council and send out all meeting notices.

The Treasurer shall be a member of the Council, shall have charge of the funds of the Section, and shall make all required financial reports and such expenditures as may be authorized by the Section or by the Council or by the Bylaws of the Institute.

Councilors (5 openings)
Councilors are responsible for providing advice and recommendations to the Council.  They are also responsible for assisting in the coordination and execution of Section dinner meetings. They are encouraged to take an active part in committees and other Section activities. They shall take office at the beginning of the administrative year for terms of two years and shall continue in office until their successors qualify and take office.

Thank you! Please direct any questions about the elections to Michael Frostad at

Achieving Mission Success with Underrepresented Disciplines in Aerospace

Join the AIAA Houston Section on the last event of the 2016 year, an evening of cocktail, dinner, network, and special panelists learning about “Achieving Mission Success with Underrepresented Disciplines in Aerospace”

Thursday, December 8th, 2016
Courtyard Marriott, Discovery/Atlantis Room, 18100 Saturn Ln., Houston, TX 77058

RSVP today on the Event Page

An excellent way to close out our 2016 AIAA Houston events, come to celebrate while we learn and network!

AIAA Houston 2015 Election Results

Thank you to everyone who voted in the 2015 AIAA Houston Section Election. This year we had 48 total votes including many for write-in candidates for the Chair-Elect and Councilor positions. The Councilor positions were filled out by the top 5 people receiving votes and those nominated via write-in for the Chair-Elect position were approached by the current Chair about taking on the responsibility.

The official results are below. Please welcome and congratulate those stepping up to lead the Houston Section for the 2015-2016 year!

The AIAA Houston Section Election Committee

Michael Frostad – Chair
Wayne Hale
David Dannemiller
Sarah Shull
Shirley Brandt

Official 2015 AIAA Houston Section Election Results:

Chair – Alan Sisson
Chair-Elect – Jennifer Wells
Treasurer – Fred Ouellette
Secretary – Lea Hougland
Vice-Chair Technical – Justine Wiles
Vice-Chair Operations – Ashley Nelson
Councilor #1 – Laura Sarmiento
Councilor #2 – Douglas Yazell
Councilor #3 – William “Bill” West
Councilor #4 – Zach Tejral
Councilor #5 – Ryan Miller

If you were not elected, your service is still needed for the appointed positions such as Membership Chair or Programs Coordinator! Please contact Alan Sisson at to volunteer and thank you.