AIAA Houston Technical Committees


As you know, the AIAA Houston Section has several Technical Committees. In order to facilitate greater involvement from the Membership with the Technical Committees, we felt it would be beneficial to provide a list of the many disciplines, the Chair of each Technical Committee, and their email. If interested in participating or fully joining any of these committees drop the Chairs a line. We’re always looking for Lunch and Learn topics as well so feel free to make a suggestion as well.

The structure and contact information can also be found on the Organization Chart

Astrodynamics                                                            –   Dr. Albert Jackson        –
Automation and Robotics                                             –   Dr. Zafar Taqvi               –
Extra-Vehicular Activity                                                –   Evelyn Miralles             –
Guidance, Navigation, and Control                                –   Dr. Steven E. Everett      –
History                                                                       –   Ted Kenny                     –
In-Space Imaging and Crew Observations                      –   Dr. Kamlesh Lulla           –
International Space Activities                                       –   Ludmila Dmitriev-Odier    –
Life Sciences, Space Processes, and Human Factors   –   Liz Warren, PhD             –
Program Management & Integration                              –   Dr. Satya Pilla               –
Propulsion and Power Systems                                    –   Sheikh Ahsan                –
Safety and Mission Assurance                                     –   Roger Kleinhammer        –
Space Commercialization                                            –   Kavya Manyapu              –
Space Operations                                                        –   BeBe Kelly-Serrato         –
Systems Engineering                                                  –   Gary Brown                    –

JSC State of the Center with Deputy Director Kirk Shireman

AIAA Houston Section will host Deputy Director Kirk Shireman for a Johnson Space Center State of the Center event February 27th, 2014. The Section invites all to RSVP at the event website below by February 18th.

Mr. Shireman’s extensive career in aerospace engineering began in 1985 with navigation and control for the space shuttle. He served as manager for Solid Rocket Booster and External Tank Separation and also manager for Ascent Guidance, Navigation and Control for the space shuttle. In 1994 Mr. Shireman began supporting the International Space Station, first as manager of Navigation and Control Subsystems and then as manager over the space station’s Russian Elements and Operations Integration branch. As deputy center director, Mr. Shireman works with Dr. Ellen Ochoa to manage the people, budget and activities of Johnson Space Center. He also serves as the chair of the International Space Station Mission Management Team, where he is responsible for all aspects of on-orbit operations of the International Space Station.

We look forward to seeing you at the event!