April Dinner Meeting: Directed Energy Weapons: Promise & Reality (Myths, Legends, and Facts: Reflections of a ‘Star Warrior’)

Join us Friday, April 8, 2016, 5:30pm, at

University of Houston Science Center, Room 102
(Map & Parking Information)
3369 Cullen Blvd.
Houston, TX 77204

Speaker: Dr. Jim Horkovich, Director for Directed Energy Programs for Schafer Corporation

– 5:30 P.M: Social
– 6:00 P.M: Dinner
– 6:30 P.M: Dr. Jim Horkovich: “Directed Energy Weapons; Promise & Reality (Myths,  Legends, and Facts: Reflections of a ‘Star Warrior’)”
– 7:30P.M: Q&A with Dr. Jim Horkovich

Ticket Prices:
– Presentation Only (No Dinner): FREE!
– Dinner, Member/Spouse: $17.00
– Dinner, Non-Member: $25.00
– Dinner, Student with ID: $8

Please see more information and RSVP today on the Eventbrite page or the event page.

History Lunch & Learn: Eugen Sänger, From the Silverbird to Interstellar Voyages

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Houston Section presents this Lunch & Learn, organized by the Section’s History technical committee (Chair: Douglas Yazell, members Ted Kenny and Chester Vaughan).

Subject: Eugen Sänger, From the Silverbird to Interstellar Voyages
Guest speaker (invited & confirmed): Dr. Albert Allen Jackson IV
Friday, April 22
NASA, JSC Gilruth Center, Lone Star Room

RSVP on Eventbrite or on the event page.

AIAA Houston 2016 Elections

AIAA Houston will have elections for Chair-Elect, Treasurer, Secretary, Vice Chair – Operations, Vice Chair – Technical, and for 5 Councilor positions during the month of April. In order to hold the vote, nominees for these positions are needed by March 25th with the nominating period opening today. To nominate someone, please send their name, the position sought, and contact information to Michael Frostad, Election Committee Chair, at elections2016@aiaahouston.org by March 25th.

AIAA Houston is one of the most active AIAA sections in the nation. If you find that you or someone you know is excited about Aerospace, wants to help pick our speakers, and wants to develop leadership skills, please consider nominating them or yourself for one of these positions described below:


The Chair-Elect shall assist the Chair in performing the Chair’s duties as requested by the Chair. The Chair-Elect shall attend Council and committee meetings to monitor and become familiar with the functions of the Section officers and the Section committees. The Chair-Elect shall coordinate with all officers, Councilors, and committee chairmen to prepare plans for the orderly transition for the Chair-Elect’s term of office as Chair during the following year. The Chair-Elect becomes the Chair after 1 year.

Vice Chair – Operations

The Vice Chair – Operations shall be responsible for conducting the detailed planning in Operations such as managing the officers who help run the section (i.e. Programs, Communications, etc.).

Vice Chair – Technical

The Vice Chair – Technical shall be responsible for conducting the detailed planning in the Technical area such as managing the Technical Committees and their Chairs and overseeing the Annual Technical Symposium (ATS).


The Secretary shall be a member of the Council and shall maintain minutes of all meetings of the Section and shall be custodian of all its records not specially assigned to others. The Secretary shall conduct the correspondence of the Section and the Council and send out all meeting notices.


The Treasurer shall be a member of the Council, shall have charge of the funds of the Section, and shall make all required financial reports and such expenditures as may be authorized by the Section or by the Council or by the Bylaws of the Institute.

Councilors (5 openings)

Councilors are responsible for providing advice and recommendations to the Council. They are also responsible for assisting in the coordination and execution of Section dinner meetings. They are encouraged to take an active part in committees and other Section activities. They shall take office at the beginning of the administrative year for terms of two years and shall continue in office until their successors qualify and take office.

Thank you! Please direct any questions about the elections to Michael Frostad at elections2016@aiaahouston.org.

Alan Sisson
2015 Chair, AIAA Houston