

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: DUANE HYLAND 703.264.7558 duaneh@aiaa.org

AIAA ANNOUNCES ITS CLASS OF 2017 FELLOWS AND HONORARY FELLOWS Three Honorary Fellows and 21 Fellows Selected

January 30, 2017 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has selected its Class of 2017 AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows. The induction ceremony will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on May 3 at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C.

"The work and leadership of AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows consistently ensures that today's aerospace dreams become tomorrow's realities," said AIAA President Jim Maser. "They are individuals who have each shown a tireless dedication to shaping the future of aerospace. AIAA congratulates the members of the 2017 Class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows on their selection."

Honorary Fellow is the highest distinction conferred by AIAA, and recognizes preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2017 Honorary Fellows are:

- Natalie W. Crawford, RAND Corporation
- Alan H. Epstein, Pratt & Whitney
- Bradford W. Parkinson, Stanford University

AIAA confers the distinction of Fellow upon individuals in recognition of their notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences or technology of aeronautics and astronautics. The 2017 Fellows are:

- Naval Agarwal, The Boeing Company
- Karl Bilimoria, NASA Ames Research Center
- Thomas Butash, Innovative Aerospace Information Systems
- Jan Davis, Jacobs Technology, Inc.
- Ari Glezer, Georgia Institute of Technology
- Steven Griffin, The Boeing Company
- Naira Hovakimyan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Eric Loth, University of Virginia
- Frank Lu, University of Texas at Arlington
- **Roger McNamara**, Lockheed Martin Corporation
- **Daniel Miller**, Lockheed Martin Corporation

- Gary Polansky, Sandia National Laboratories
- **Richard Powell,** Analytical Mechanics Associates, Inc.
- Mark Psiaki, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
- Lesa Roe, NASA Headquarters
- Heidi Shyu, U.S. Army (retired)/Heidi Shyu Inc.
- George Sowers, United Launch Alliance, LLC
- Ben Thacker, Southwest Research Institute
- John Valasek, Texas A&M University
- Julie Van Kleeck, Aerojet Rocketdyne
- Todd Zarfos, The Boeing Company

In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA's first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are still among the most respected names in the aerospace industry.

For more information on AIAA's Honors Program, or the AIAA Honorary Fellows or Fellows Program, please contact Patricia A. Carr at 703.264.7523 or <u>triciac@aiaa.org</u>.

About AIAA

AIAA is the world's largest aerospace professional society, serving a diverse range of more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and nearly 100 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit <u>www.aiaa.org</u>, or follow us on Twitter <u>@AIAA</u>.

^{###}